LinuxSA Mailing list archives

Index: [thread] [date] [subject] [author] [stats]
  From: John Edwards <isplist@adam.com.au>
  To  : Ben Kramer <ben@webmedia.com.au>
  Date: Mon, 28 May 2001 16:14:57 +0930

Re: Apache question

Ben Kramer wrote:

> 212.91.201.103 - - [28/May/2001:15:28:05 +0930] "GET
> http://www.united-ads.com/cgi-bin/banner.cgi?rytchkovserguei HTTP/1.0"
> 404 288 "http://www.geocities.com/giftsbestfy2000/index.htm"
> "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 5.5; Windows 98)"
> 
> I have looked in my config for apache and cant see anything turned on
> that would allow this.
> Does anybody have any sugestions ?

Looks like another banner-ad scam where someone is attempting to use
your server to generate false clicks. If you're using it as a proxy
server and a less-than-reputable site guesses that you're doing so when
you visit, it will attempt to use the same proxy itself to make false
advertising impressions and click-throughs.

John Edwards

-- 
LinuxSA WWW: http://www.linuxsa.org.au/  IRC: #linuxsa on irc.linux.org.au
To unsubscribe from the LinuxSA list:
  mail linuxsa-request@linuxsa.org.au with "unsubscribe" as the subject


Index: [thread] [date] [subject] [author] [stats]
Return to the LinuxSA Mailing List Information Page